New AASL standards for 21st century learner

After the famous AASL Information Literacy standards for students, now the standards for the 21st-century learners.
There are now only four main standards :

  1. Learners use skills, resources, and tools to inquire, think critically, and gain knowledge.
  2. Learners use skills, resources, and tools to draw conclusions, make informed decisions, apply knowledge to new situations, and create new knowledge.
  3. Learners use skills, resources, and tools to share knowledge and participate ethically and productively as members of our democratic society.
  4. Learners use skills, resources, and tools to pursue personal and aesthetic growth.

The choice of 4 standars is a better strategy because the old 9 standards was too difficult to remember (like a BIG4). The standards are better user-centered and less procedural but there are a lot of skills under the 4 standards. Nevertheless we can feel the influence of research in information literacy and the web 2.0’s mutations.
I like a lot the first sentence :
Reading is a window o the world. Reading is a foundational skill for learning, personal growth, and enjoyment. The degree to which students can read and understand text in all formats (e.g., picture, video, print) and all contexts is a key indicator of success in school and in life. As a lifelong learning skill, reading goes beyond decoding and comprehension to interpretation and development of new understandings.

Reading in a wider vision near of Yves Jeanneret’s concept is the key in the life-long learning perspective.

Thanks to the blog of scool library media for the news.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *